Woodland wildflowers at Shrader-Weaver Nature Preserve

About this time last year, my son and I took an afternoon trip to Shrader-Weaver Nature Preserve in Fayette County. I was so struck by the wildflowers, and kicking myself for not bringing a decent camera, we returned with my wife just a few days later.

This year my parents wanted to see the show too, so this week we visited once again. While the profusion of flowers is yet to come (probably over the next 2 weeks), there was more variety in what we did see. Best yet, with the exception of  three mushroom hunters as we were leaving, we had the whole place to ourselves.

I plan to visit Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary operated by Indiana Audubon Society south of  nearby Connersville. Put together, these two properties would make an excellent day trip. I’ll report back when I do.

Preserve details: 96-108 acres (DNR and Nature Conservancy literature disagree) divided between upland old growth and lowland successional woods. Two loop trails, one for each portion of the preserve. 2 miles of trail.

Further Reading:

Nature Conservancy

DNR brochure (PDF)

Self-Guided Hike

CityBeat.com (Cincinnati) article, 2010

Photo Gallery from Bob Shrader

Leave a Reply

