Shrader-Weaver Woods

Quick trip to The Nature Conservancy‘s Shrader-Weaver Woods Nature Preserve in Fayette County this afternoon. I had gone to Shrader-Weaver Woods NP late last summer (http://goo.gl/87c8Ql) and thought it was a nice walk through old-growth trees. However,  today we were in for a treat.

IMG_20140502_135243a
Trillium


The floor of the woods was covered with wildflowers. Hundreds of trillium covered the old-growth portion, and acres of blue-eyed Mary covered the lowland successional portion, mixed in with golden ragwort and a purple flower that looked like a low growing phlox.

IMG_20140502_135108
Wildflowers


I hadn’t planned on such beauty, so had left my camera at home and only half charge on my phone. I kicked myself for that oversight the entire trail. The photos I was able to take don’t do justice to the amazing show. If you’re into wildflowers or just in the area , I highly recommend stopping by.

IMG_20140502_140000
Trail-side trillium
About the post

Central Indiana

Leave a Reply

